the gift of anticipation

“Well,” said Pooh, “what I like best,” and then he had to stop and think. Because although Eating Honey was a very good thing to do, there was a moment just before you began to eat it which was better than when you were, but he didn’t know what it was called.

A. A. Milne

It is almost March, and western Oregon, bless it, brings spring early.  I can smell it, even before the viola odorata blooms in my local park.  Here are a few things I am already enjoying, by looking forward to them:

Giving this old barn and pasture some critters to shelter and feed (well patrolled by Sancho).

sancho patrols the barn

A new batch of baby bunnies (Momma buns had her first date of 2013 two weeks ago…Snacks is next.) In a month I should be enjoying views like this:

white bunnies

Purple peas are germinating in the greenhouse, soon to be planted in the garden.

purple peas

And, I bought a spring form pan!  I literally have never owned one.  Looking forward to lots of tasty tarts in future.  This is my first ever cheesecake.  It was lemon, and excellent. (Apologies for the terrible flash photo).

cheesecake

Spring is just around the corner!  Hope you are enjoying the anticipation as much as I am…..cheers!

2 thoughts on “the gift of anticipation

  1. spudlust Post author

    Well, not all of it I am sure…. Trying to look at the long wait as an opportunity, not a set back. Thanks for the good luck wishes! I can use ’em. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

