Good things come to those who wait, and wait, and wait….

 

Here is the farm logo!  Thanks so much Clare for your help with this.LRF

No, we haven’t closed yet.  We don’t know yet for sure, the seller has yet to give us a real timeline, but it could be as long as late March.  Which is causing me to rewrite my business plan, and scramble for things like greenhouse space for tomatoes and peppers.  I expected to have my propagation house built by now, and I haven’t even gotten on the land yet, and may have to hire someone else to grow my tomato and pepper starts. And late March is past most of the local farmer’s markets application deadlines….should I even grow tomatoes at all (short answer, of course!!)?  But, what is farming, what is life, but rolling with the punches? Sorry little house, we are coming, I promise.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe elk visited during the snow event, and inspected the septic tank and drainfield.  The hiccup now has to do with some paperwork and the survey…the very last hurdle.  My computer calendar says I am to start early peas in the prophouse today, I am trying to stay cheerful.   They say patience is a virtue. Well, we must be iridescent with virtuousness by now!  But, this will be a good thing.  It is coming.  We are waiting.

5 thoughts on “Good things come to those who wait, and wait, and wait….

  1. Barry

    Yah, if waiting is a virtue, then you could give some saints a run for their rank. The new home looks so hopeful, with its blanket of snow. I think the elk might have dropped some microbial inoculants to kickstart the spring soil building. Of course, if they get too intrusive, they might have to donate an elk roast… I hope the survey fellow gets his track boots on, and all goes smoothly thereafter. March is just a week away!

    Reply
  2. spudlust Post author

    Thanks very much, both of you. It is coming. I am feeling hopeful enough I may even order some ducklings today. And yes, elk roast will be what’s for dinner at some point! Elk fence is actually first on my list of infrastructure requirements…it is a big herd, and we are right on their migration route.

    Reply
  3. headinthemist

    We bought our place a year and a half ago and it was one of the most stressful moments in my life! We found it in January and agreed with the owner on a price and had a handshake deal. Then we had problem after problem with the bank / loan officer. BUT, then we moved in on June 1st and we are so happy we did. All of these stressful moments will melt away when you get there (and then you will be just too busy getting the place together to remember them 🙂 .Best of luck to you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

