Springing into May…

In spite of my lack of farm, I am having a garden start sale this weekend, to get the ball rolling, to do a little marketing, and recoup some of my seed costs.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIf you live in Portland and want the details, check out the Long Run Farm website for more information.  Look under the weekly post page.

In other news, Osprey the mustang passed her TIP criteria, and the adoption process is underway!  She is doing beautifully.  She is not under saddle yet, but she does accept one without very much fuss.  She also tolerates flags, although plastic bags on sticks are still suspect.  I bought my first ton of hay from a friend, and scored some cheap horse accoutrements (brushes, fly masks, rubber buckets) at the Small Farmers Journal Auction last week.  Boy was that fun!  Lots of weird old equipment, piles and piles of harness (literally), charismatic old farmers galore, and cute young farm boys prancing around in chaps and dusters that were up for auction.  Met some amazing horse farmers and teamsters, and learned a lot about equipment, harness, and auctions.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe final major paperwork is through the county, we could actually be within a couple of weeks of closing….I’ll believe it when I am writing the check, but keep thinking your good thoughts!

Bees are well, I made a split of my big hive, and looked at the split today:  saw a few queen cells, the bees are starting to thin down the ends, so the ladies should be hatching right in the middle of the lovely weather we are having.  Perfect.  I also got my first sting of the season today, a sure sign of warm weather.  We have been making the most of this waiting period, my husband and I have both landed two spring Chinook so far.  Which reminds me, I’m off to pick some asparagus for smoked salmon pizza…..cheers!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Springing into May…

  1. Barry

    Congratulations on so much good news! Osprey looks like such a sweetie – and taking the saddle just fine. I wish you a sell-out on those excellent starts, too. Closing is a nail-biter, in my experience. Always seems that some little snag pops up, but you’ll get it worked out. Good luck!

    Reply
  2. spudlust Post author

    Thanks so much Barry. Your support and encouragement mean a lot! Of to sell some tomatoes and peppers in the rain…a good intro to farming!

    cheers,
    Laura

    Reply

Leave a Reply

