Smiles everyone! Smiles.

So, closing has been pushed back again…to early June.  We are keeping our chins up.  It is spring, the weather is lovely, and everything is in bloom.  Good time of year to be a bee.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAthe first peace rose of the summer, in full technicolor glory.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe fourth or fifth peony…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERApurple podded pea with pollinator (or possibly perpetrator, I will have to look this bug up).  This is such a fabulous plant, I can’t say enough good things about it.  You can get them from Adaptive seeds, the variety is called Sugar Magnolia.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASugar Ann peas (these were eaten moments later).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAa native pollinator checking out the chives…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASancho sunbathing…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis look is uniquely Katydid:  a combination of “I am really sorry I dug this hole but it is for my ball please don’t take it away and have I mentioned how tasty this dirt is?  Love you!”

So it is hard to be down in the mouth with all these good things happening right here in our tiny urban backyard.  Oh yes, and then there is this:

under saddleOsprey was backed for the first time today!  I go see her again tomorrow.  I tried out some used dressage saddles this week, so I at least have some idea of what fits and why.  Folks always say buying the horse is the cheap part, and they aren’t kidding!  But she is worth every hard won penny….and Rachel is doing a fantastic job with her.

Happy Memorial Day weekend everyone!  I will be selling wine at Big Table Farm on Sunday, if you are in the area tasting wines this weekend come by!

2 thoughts on “Smiles everyone! Smiles.

  1. Barry

    As those in the royal family say; “Stay calm. Carry on.” Or – “Are you waiting for Godot, too? I’m sure he’s on the way… “. Early June sounds better than late July, anyway.
    Just wish we could swing a trip up for a wine tasting! Osprey looks so graceful, too. She looks like she is comfy in the round pen, too.

    Reply
  2. spudlust Post author

    Boy I hope we aren’t waiting for Godot! 🙂 As I often joke, we should have named it ‘Long Wait Farm’. It will be touch and go whether I can nurse my tomato and pepper plants along long enough to get them in the ground. But yes, I think we are really really close now. Osprey is doing amazingly well, she is for the most part a pretty easy going gal for an older wild mare, but Rachel is a very gifted trainer. I am lucky to have found her. Rachel thinks she is a little slow, but I think that is a good thing, especially if I want to do some harness work with her. And she is perking up as she gets more used to things. I look at it as a southern approach to life: why hurry when you can mosey along? You should try to make a trip up here sometime, Brian and Clare’s wines are beautiful. They have ruined my palate for affordable wine though, so be warned!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

