Here goes….somethin’

Went home to Kentucky to see family last week.  Got in a lovely 2 hour ride with my father, who is in his late seventies, and Marilyn, a friend from the hunt club, on the two farms owned by family out in Simpsonville.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

love me a sycamore tree!

love me a sycamore tree!

there is really only one way to travel through country like this-on a horse!

there is really only one way to travel through country like this-on a horse!

We also did a drive by on my Old Kentucky Home-the house looks great.  Some day we will stop in and try to get a tour of the inside (I am betting the shag carpet and loud wallpaper are long gone….).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABack on the farm, the to do list is long!  But I am getting started on the propagation house, and thinking about fencing for the spring garden.

just add plastic....

just add plastic….

this little hoophouse will cost me about $300 for an 8×16 space-and all the materials can be repurposed into moveable animal housing or fencing…..

The garlic and leeks and walking onions are up and look great!  So far the gophers haven’t found them, but I know it is only a matter of time…..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAnow…off to put my seed order in!

 

3 thoughts on “Here goes….somethin’

  1. Barry

    Kentucky really is a beautiful area of this great country – and yeah, perfect for horses!
    Brrr…those alliums are brave – but what is the little fungiform thing in the foreground? I have a few clumps of it popping up along my future garden beds-to-be, so I have just scooped them up and added them to the rows (cardboard, clippings, and such, quietly decomposting as I procrastinate. I’m an expert on that…).

    Reply
  2. spudlust Post author

    Barry, I will have to come visit your farm sometime. I think it is a variety of cup fungus-which if I remember rightly my mushroom book identifies as edible but not worth eating.

    Reply
    1. Barry

      I’m grateful for your hint about cap fungus – and without much effort on the internet, I can confirm that you are quite right! Ascomycota, but I’m relieved to know that it is just the tertiary decomposer of my clumsy cardboard and clippings rows. We are having such warm weather, I may even need to mow the lawn!
      Apropos of nothing in connection to that, I found a very interesting website about harvesting honey:
      http://www.honeyflow.com/
      I can’t have bees here, as my plans may be changing, but “Honeyflow” sounds intriguing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

